Skip to main content

PSA by Canam Systems Review 2026: Pricing, Pros, Cons, Alternatives

Third-party contract data puts real numbers on PSA by Canam Systems. The 6 gaps reviewers name, and 6 alternatives that publish a price upfront.

PSA by Canam Systems pricing page as published on the vendor's own site
Disclosure This article features tools from our brand partners. If you choose to use them, we may receive compensation at no extra cost to you.

Our editorial choices are independent of these affiliate arrangements. Read our full affiliate disclosure.

Fervor is a CRO and web design studio, not a software reseller, and no vendor paid for placement here or for a kinder verdict. Affiliate links are flagged where they appear, and they never change what we report.

Single-Tool Review

Page at a glance

PSA by Canam Systems is A restoration ERP that puts general ledger, payroll and work-in-process in the same system as job intake, so the office stops rekeying between an accounting package and a job board. It publishes no price, so the only way to get a number is to ask a salesperson for one. PSA describes itself as selling modules rather than seats: à la carte web based options aimed at medium to large businesses. So what you pay is set by which of Proven Accounting, Proven Jobs, Proven CRM, Proven OnSite and Proven Analytics you switch on, not purely by headcount. The 2023 fee notice also refers to the subscription as monthly rental, and folds training and support into the package rather than billing it by the hour as it used to. It fits Restoration firms of roughly 15 to 200 staff running insurance claim work, where a controller already exists and the accounting side is the reason to switch. It's the wrong buy for A one to ten person restoration shop taking its first software off spreadsheets, because PSA describes its own market as medium to large size businesses, and a reviewer at a small company said in as many words that it is a little too robust for a smaller company like us. On top of that, an operations manager was still learning and implementing after nearly a year. And a full ERP with a general ledger is not a first system. Alternatives that publish their prices are AccuLynx from $250, CompanyCam from $63, Synchroteam from $49. One priced tiers, six evidenced gaps and six alternatives, three of which publish a figure.

What you're buying with PSA by Canam Systems, and what the demo skips

PSA by Canam Systems earns its money with Restoration firms of roughly 15 to 200 staff running insurance claim work, where a controller already exists and the accounting side is the reason to switch. If that's you, it does the job. The sections below are the parts worth checking before you sign. But the fit is narrower than the marketing suggests, and the price isn't the whole cost.

The vendor publishes no price. But every number below was verified on 7 August 2026 and comes from a named third party that says which.

Quick facts, verified 7 August 2026. Sources are linked where each figure is discussed.
Pricing modelCustom quote, no published price
Entry priceQuote only
UsersPSA describes itself as selling modules rather than seats: à la carte web based options ai
OwnershipCanam Systems (2002) Inc.
Best fitRestoration firms of roughly 15 to 200 staff running insurance claim work, where a controller already exists and the accounting side is the reason to switch.
Accounting syncIntuit QuickBooks (two-way), ADP (one-way), Paychex (one-way), CheckMark (one-way), EasyPay (one-way), Gravity Payments (one-way)

What works

  • The general ledger is the product, not an integration
  • Approved field hours move into the ledger and journal entries come back
  • Built around the carrier ecosystem rather than around a sales pipeline
  • Proven Smart Tech Mobile does timecards, photos and e-signature, offline
  • Support moved from hourly billing to bundled, which tells you what it used to cost

What does not

  • The mobile app is the weak half, and the office finds out through missing hours
  • Getting data out is manual work, by the reviewers' own account
  • There is no published contract, anywhere
  • The QuickBooks Desktop sync has hardware and licence prerequisites that cost real money
  • The public review record has effectively stopped

PSA by Canam Systems is A restoration ERP that puts general ledger, payroll and work-in-process in the same system as job intake, so the office stops rekeying between an accounting package and a job board. It sells to Restoration contractors, and the shape of the product follows from that: Proven Accounting is PSA's own double-entry system: chart of accounts, financial statements, bank and credit card reconciliation, payables and receivables, purchase orders, inventory cost and depreciation. It calculates work-in-process automatically and generates over and under billing adjustments, which is the piece most job-management tools push back to an accountant. And a reviewer names the work in progress reports as what she loved.

Ownership matters here more than it usually does. PSA by Canam Systems is owned by Canam Systems (2002) Inc., so weigh roadmap risk alongside the feature list. An independent product can be bought and folded into somebody else's plan two years after you sign.

Who should be shortlisting PSA by Canam Systems

It fits Restoration firms of roughly 15 to 200 staff running insurance claim work, where a controller already exists and the accounting side is the reason to switch. That's the half most reviews print. Here's the other half, which is the one worth your time.

Don't buy it if you're A one to ten person restoration shop taking its first software off spreadsheets. PSA describes its own market as medium to large size businesses, and a reviewer at a small company said in as many words that it is a little too robust for a smaller company like us. On top of that, an operations manager was still learning and implementing after nearly a year. And a full ERP with a general ledger is not a first system. Look at CompanyCam instead.

Don't buy it if you're A contractor who wants to compare shortlist prices before booking calls. There's no pricing page at all. The only figure anywhere is $325 on two aggregators that share a feed, attached to a plan name PSA doesn't sell. So you can't shortlist PSA on price. You can only qualify into a demo. Look at AccuLynx instead.

Don't buy it if you're A Mac-based office, or one whose QuickBooks lives on Right Networks. PSA states plainly that the QBD Sync cannot be installed on a Mac, and that Right Networks cloud hosting will not allow the PSA QBD Sync to be installed. So if your books are in either place, the accounting bridge that justifies the whole purchase doesn't install. Look at Knowify instead.

Don't buy it if you're A field-heavy crew that needs the phone to be the primary interface. Mobile is the single most consistent complaint in the review record: slow, sync failures, jobs not findable, clock-outs that do not take, and notes fields that will not scroll. But the office side is what reviewers praise. Look at FieldPulse instead.

Pricing: what PSA by Canam Systems publishes and what it doesn't

PSA by Canam Systems doesn't publish a price. That's the finding, not a gap in this page: you can't compare this product on cost until someone quotes you.

The vendor's own wording is this, and nothing more: "There is no pricing page. canamsys.com/pages/pricing returns a 404, the main navigation carries no pricing item, and the sitemap's 89 page URLs contain no pricing page. Every product page ends in a demo form instead. The demo page's own copy is the closest the vendor comes to addressing cost, and it addresses it by not addressing it." So treat every third-party page printing tier names and figures for PSA by Canam Systems with careful suspicion. Those numbers are not on the vendor's site today, and a roundup that reprints them is telling you what PSA by Canam Systems used to charge somebody else.

And we aren't going to print a per-month number we can't open a vendor page and read. What exists instead is third-party reporting, dated, from people who saw real contracts. Read it as a range rather than as a quote you can hold anyone to.

Reported pricing for PSA by Canam Systems, from sources other than the vendor. Each row carries the date it was reported, because a figure from eighteen months ago is a different fact from one reported this quarter.
Reported range Reported on Source
$325 per month 2026-08-07 Capterra lists a starting price of $325 under a plan it calls Basic, with Pricing Model Other, Payment Frequency Per Month, free trial yes, no free version, and credit card required no. PSA sells no plan called Basic on its own site.
$325 per month 2026-08-07 Software Advice's profile repeats the same figure as $325 per month with a free trial available, alongside an overall 3.9 out of 5 from 72 reviews. The two aggregators agree with each other because they draw from the same feed, so treat this as one figure confirmed twice, not two independent figures.

PSA describes itself as selling modules rather than seats: à la carte web based options aimed at medium to large businesses. So what you pay is set by which of Proven Accounting, Proven Jobs, Proven CRM, Proven OnSite and Proven Analytics you switch on, not purely by headcount. The 2023 fee notice also refers to the subscription as monthly rental, and folds training and support into the package rather than billing it by the hour as it used to.

The PSA by Canam Systems costs that show up later

Payment processing. Gravity Payments is the named payment partner in the Proven Accounting section of the integration directory. No rate, no interchange-plus wording, no per-transaction figure appears anywhere on canamsys.com. So card processing is available through PSA and priced entirely off-page.

Implementation and onboarding. Training and support are bundled. From March 1, 2023 PSA moved every customer onto packages that include unlimited training and support, with one carve-out: on-site training. On-site training is the one service explicitly excluded from unlimited, and PSA sells it as a service where trainers work in your office one-on-one. Before that change, PSA billed training and support by the hour.

Minimum term. There's no terms of service, MSA or subscription agreement published anywhere on canamsys.com. The Shopify default /policies/terms-of-service returns 404, and the sitemap lists only a privacy policy and two data protection addenda. So ask for the Agreement by name, in writing, before the demo ends.

Getting out. The US Data Protection Addendum repeatedly references Agreements, product supplements, statements of work and purchase orders that aren't published. So assume the commercial terms live in that unpublished stack, and ask what you owe if you leave in month four.

Auto-renewal. Ask whether the term rolls automatically and what notice period cancels it. But nothing public answers this.

Modules sold separately. , , . And this is where a PSA by Canam Systems quote drifts from the published tier. A module you need immediately is part of the price, not an extra.

Third-party services you will also pay for. A dedicated extra QuickBooks Desktop licence, if you want the QBD sync to run automatically, A stationary Windows host machine for the QBD sync, A hosting provider that permits third-party installs. These are not on PSA by Canam Systems's invoice, and they are still part of what this decision costs you every month.

"Third-party reporting puts PSA by Canam Systems at $325 per month, reported 2026-08-07."

Capterra lists a starting price of $325 under a plan it calls Basic, with Pricing Model Other, Payment Frequency Per Month, free trial yes, no free version, and credit card required no. PSA sells no plan called Basic on its own site. (8-07)

Side note, and it's a useful one: pSA used to bill integrations one by one, and in March 2023 replaced that with a flat $50 per month unlimited integration package. Read backwards, that notice is a confession: for years, every carrier connection, every capture tool, every payroll bridge you added was a separate line on the invoice. The flat rate is genuinely better. But it also tells you integrations were never bundled into the base price and still aren't. When a rep quotes you a monthly figure, ask whether the $50 integration package is inside it or on top of it, and get the answer on the order form.

The PSA by Canam Systems line items nobody mentions

The subscription is the part everyone quotes. These are the lines that land afterwards, and the ones we could not find are named as unpublished rather than left blank.

Sold separately. , , . Price the configuration you'll really run, because an add-on you need on day one is part of the price.

Third-party services you'll also pay for. A dedicated extra QuickBooks Desktop licence, if you want the QBD sync to run automatically, A stationary Windows host machine for the QBD sync, A hosting provider that permits third-party installs. None of these are on PSA by Canam Systems's invoice, and all of them are part of what this decision costs every month.

"PSA by Canam Systems answers the question of what it costs with this and nothing else: "There is no pricing page. canamsys.com/pages/pricing returns a 404, the main navigation carries no pricing item, and the sitemap's 89 page URLs contain no pricing page. Every product page ends in a demo form instead. The demo page's own copy is the closest the vendor comes to addressing cost, and it addresses it by not addressing it.""

PSA by Canam Systems pricing page (2026)

"PSA by Canam Systems Basic (Capterra listing, not a vendor-published plan) is $325/month, per account, listed by Capterra with Payment Frequency Per Month and Pricing Model Other."

PSA by Canam Systems pricing page (2026)

"PSA describes itself as selling modules rather than seats: à la carte web based options aimed at medium to large businesses. So what you pay is set by which of Proven Accounting, Proven Jobs, Proven CRM, Proven OnSite and Proven Analytics you switch on, not purely by headcount. The 2023 fee notice also refers to the subscription as monthly rental, and folds training and support into the package rather than billing it by the hour as it used to."

PSA by Canam Systems pricing page (2026)

The five workflows you pay for

Feature totals are noise. So a shop in this category lives or dies on five things, and those are the five to grade, and each one below carries the evidence it's graded on.

The general ledger is the product, not an integration. Proven Accounting is PSA's own double-entry system: chart of accounts, financial statements, bank and credit card reconciliation, payables and receivables, purchase orders, inventory cost and depreciation. It calculates work-in-process automatically and generates over and under billing adjustments, which is the piece most job-management tools push back to an accountant. And a reviewer names the work in progress reports as what she loved. But an assistant director, construction, 11-50 employees, 1-2 years on the platform, writes it differently: "I loved the Job costing reports to see profitability. I loved the Work in progress reports to see where we are in each department and what needs to be improved I loved that notes can be transferred from PSA to Xactanalysis, reducing double data entry All file management can be done in one place."

Approved field hours move into the ledger and journal entries come back. PSA describes integrated payroll transferring approved labor hours directly from production, and importing journal entries back into Proven Accounting to eliminate double entry. Four payroll vendors sit on the integration list: ADP, Paychex, CheckMark and the Canadian-only EasyPay. That round trip is the strongest structural argument for PSA. But it's also the workflow most exposed to the mobile sync complaints, because the hours have to arrive first. On 2021-12-13, a manager, construction, 1-2 years on the platform, puts it: "Many days the time sheets don't sync and the staff is missing hours"

Built around the carrier ecosystem rather than around a sales pipeline. Proven Jobs claims full integration with Xactware, Symbility, Matterport and DocuSketch, and the integration directory carries Verisk, Cotality and CoreLogic. A reviewer specifically values notes transferring from PSA to XactAnalysis to reduce double data entry. So if your revenue arrives as assignments from carriers and TPAs rather than as retail leads, this is the axis PSA is optimised on. An assistant director, construction, 11-50 employees, 1-2 years on the platform, describes it it plainly: "I loved the Job costing reports to see profitability. I loved the Work in progress reports to see where we are in each department and what needs to be improved I loved that notes can be transferred from PSA to Xactanalysis, reducing double data entry All file management can be done in one place."

Proven Smart Tech Mobile does timecards, photos and e-signature, offline. PSA lists capturing timecards electronically, signing e-documents remotely or in the field, tracking equipment and materials, and staying connected 24/7 offline with the mobile app. Reviewers confirm the photo upload and clock-in flow is easy, and then confirm that the sync behind it is where it breaks. And both halves of that are in the record. On 2021-12-10, a general manager, construction, 1-2 years on the platform, describes it: "The mobile app to me seems flawed. IMO it should auto sync, and finding and locating jobs is hard and half the time the job your searching for cant be found on mobile app."

Support moved from hourly billing to bundled, which tells you what it used to cost. Until March 2023 PSA billed training and support by the hour, and its own notice says that created barriers that prevented staff from wanting to get additional training and support, so customers forwent the opportunity. One owner review from 2021 lands exactly on that: paying for answers to problems with the software. The change is real and it's in the vendor's own words. But the review corpus predates it, which is why the 2021 complaints read harsher than a 2026 buyer would experience. And an owner, construction, 2+ years on the platform, writing on 2021-12-03, puts it the same thing: "The fact I have to pay you for answers to problems with your software is mind blowing. email thru your system doesn't work and no one from psa will help us fix it."

PSA by Canam Systems per trade, not per company size

Fit differs by trade rather than by company size alone, and a blended paragraph hides that. Here is the split for the trades this one sells to.

Restoration. The workflow that decides it is the general ledger is the product, not an integration, and the shop profile that gets value is multi-branch or franchise restoration group doing insurance and commercial and residential work. Where it stops being a fit is A one to ten person restoration shop taking its first software off spreadsheets.

Your books, and whether PSA by Canam Systems connects to them

Intuit QuickBooks connects both ways, gated to a higher tier. ADP connects one way only, so edits made in your books do not come back, gated to a higher tier. Paychex connects one way only, so edits made in your books do not come back, gated to a higher tier. CheckMark connects one way only, so edits made in your books do not come back, gated to a higher tier. EasyPay connects one way only, so edits made in your books do not come back, gated to a higher tier. Gravity Payments connects one way only, so edits made in your books do not come back, gated to a higher tier. Your costs map through cost codes, so test yours against your own chart of accounts before you commit. A code your books don't recognise is how a labour charge quietly lands somewhere useless.

Past those, the road ends. Xero, Sage and Sage Intacct, Zapier or any general automation layer, CompanyCam, Any published developer or API documentation do not connect. So if your books run on an ERP rather than the platforms named above, weigh that before anything else.

Beyond accounting it connects to Encircle (Field data capture, photos and documentation, and report generation to insurance documentation standards. One Capterra reviewer describes running Encircle for pictures and documents on site and PSA for everything else, which is the pairing in practice.), magicplan (Instant floorplans from a phone, sent into Xactimate or CoreLogic. The only tile in the whole directory that names a real-time data format.), DocuSketch (360-degree property tour documentation and sketching for restoration.), Matterport (3D digital twin capture of a loss site.), Verisk, Cotality and CoreLogic / Symbility (Carrier-side claims and estimating. CoreLogic's tile advertises over 50 ready-to-go integrations that work with Symbility's system.), Twilio, Mailgun and Mailchimp (The plumbing under Proven OnSite: SMS, transactional email delivery and marketing email.), Alliance and AnswerForce (24/7 answering services that push new jobs and lead data into PSA.), Directory count, done by hand (The Integrated Partners page shows 36 named tiles. Counted by section: 5 under Proven Accounting, 19 under Proven Jobs and Proven CRM, 8 Consultants and 4 PSA Affiliates. Only the first two groups are software. So PSA has 24 software integrations, and 12 of the logos on its integrations page are consultancies and trade bodies, not integrations.). A public API exists: No public API is documented. The only mention of API anywhere on the site is PSA explaining why it used to bill integrations separately, to cover the cost of development, ongoing maintenance and API calls. That phrasing says PSA consumes partner APIs; it does not say PSA exposes one to customers. Treat integration as a vendor-brokered service you pay $50/month for, not something you build against.

PSA by Canam Systems support, onboarding and the hours

Support is the line item nobody prices and everybody eventually needs. Onboarding for PSA by Canam Systems: Training and support are bundled. From March 1, 2023 PSA moved every customer onto packages that include unlimited training and support, with one carve-out: on-site training. On-site training is the one service explicitly excluded from unlimited, and PSA sells it as a service where trainers work in your office one-on-one. Before that change, PSA billed training and support by the hour.

On 2021-12-03, an owner, construction, 2+ years on the platform, reports it: "The fact I have to pay you for answers to problems with your software is mind blowing. email thru your system doesn't work and no one from psa will help us fix it."

Before you sign with PSA by Canam Systems: the exit

Nobody reads this section before they buy, and it's the one that costs money afterwards. Four terms decide what leaving looks like.

Minimum term. There's no terms of service, MSA or subscription agreement published anywhere on canamsys.com. The Shopify default /policies/terms-of-service returns 404, and the sitemap lists only a privacy policy and two data protection addenda. So ask for the Agreement by name, in writing, before the demo ends.

Auto-renewal. Ask whether the term rolls automatically and what notice period cancels it. But nothing public answers this.

Early termination. The US Data Protection Addendum repeatedly references Agreements, product supplements, statements of work and purchase orders that aren't published. So assume the commercial terms live in that unpublished stack, and ask what you owe if you leave in month four.

Payment processing. Gravity Payments is the named payment partner in the Proven Accounting section of the integration directory. No rate, no interchange-plus wording, no per-transaction figure appears anywhere on canamsys.com. So card processing is available through PSA and priced entirely off-page.

Small thing that turns out to matter. The most revealing document PSA publishes is a pre-install questionnaire nobody would find from the sales pages. It says the QuickBooks Desktop sync needs its own dedicated licence for automatic operation, cannot go on a Mac, is not recommended on a laptop, cannot be installed while an Accountant's Copy is out, and is flatly blocked by Right Networks hosting. It also says the folder C:\ProgramData\QBPSA must be in your daily backup and that altering it forces a fresh conversion of all information. Send that page to whoever administers your QuickBooks before you book the demo. And if the answer is Mac or Right Networks, the deal is dead on a technicality that won't come up on a sales call.

"PSA by Canam Systems is reported at $325 per month as of 2026-08-07."

Capterra lists a starting price of $325 under a plan it calls Basic, with Pricing Model Other, Payment Frequency Per Month, free trial yes, no free version, and credit card required no. PSA sells no plan called Basic on its own site. (8-07)

"PSA by Canam Systems is reported at $325 per month as of 2026-08-07."

Software Advice's profile repeats the same figure as $325 per month with a free trial available, alongside an overall 3.9 out of 5 from 72 reviews. The two aggregators agree with each other because they draw from the same feed, so treat this as one figure confirmed twice, not two independent figures. (8-07)

"I loved the Job costing reports to see profitability. I loved the Work in progress reports to see where we are in each department and what needs to be improved I loved that notes can be transferred from PSA to Xactanalysis, reducing double data entry All file management can be done in one place."

Capterra, Tina N. (5-06)

The PSA by Canam Systems gaps worth raising on the call

Every one of these is checkable on a demo call. None of it is a matter of taste, and each one traces to a vendor page or a named reviewer.

The mobile app is the weak half, and the office finds out through missing hours. Sync is the recurring word. A general manager says the app should auto sync and that half the time the job cannot be found. A manager reports time sheets not syncing on many days and staff missing hours. And a crew chief reports clock-outs that did not take. So it isn't a cosmetic complaint. It lands in payroll, in a product whose whole pitch is that payroll and job costing live in one system. A manager, construction, 1-2 years on the platform, says it plainly: "Many days the time sheets don't sync and the staff is missing hours" During the trial, run one real crew on mobile timecards for a full pay period and reconcile against paper before you sign anything.

Getting data out is manual work, by the reviewers' own account. A general manager says exporting to Excel does not happen smoothly and much manipulation is required. An estimator says the format of dry logs and scope sheets is really rough when moving them out of PSA to desktop. And those are the two documents an insurance restoration file lives or dies on. A general manager, construction, 1-2 years on the platform, puts it it plainly: "The reporting feature is frustrating. Exporting to Excel does not happen smoothly and much manipulation is required." Ask for a sample Excel export and a sample dry log PDF from a live account before the demo ends, and open both yourself.

There is no published contract, anywhere. canamsys.com publishes a privacy policy and two data protection addenda and nothing else. The Shopify default terms-of-service path returns 404. The US Data Protection Addendum refers throughout to agreements, product supplements, statements of work and purchase orders in effect between the parties, so a commercial contract stack clearly exists. But none of it is public, which means term, notice period, renewal and termination charges are all invisible until a rep sends paper. Ask for the master agreement in writing at first contact, not at signature. Read the term and the notice clause before you look at the software again.

The QuickBooks Desktop sync has hardware and licence prerequisites that cost real money. PSA's own pre-install questionnaire says an automatic QBD sync needs its own dedicated QuickBooks licence, so a three-user shop buys a fourth. It cannot be installed on a Mac. It is not recommended on a laptop. It cannot be installed while an Accountant's Copy is out. And Right Networks hosting will not allow it at all. Yet none of this appears on any sales page. Price the extra QuickBooks licence and a stationary office PC into your first-year number, and tell the rep where your QuickBooks is hosted today.

The public review record has effectively stopped. Capterra shows 3.9 out of 5 across 72 reviews, and Software Advice shows the same figure and the same count. Sorted by most recent, the newest review on Capterra is May 6, 2024, and almost the entire body underneath it is from a single cluster in late 2021. So the visible evidence describes a product as it stood four to five years ago, and PSA has shipped at least a Time and Materials Phase Two release since. Ask for three reference customers who went live in the last eighteen months, and ask them the mobile sync question directly.

The help library isn't public, so you can't check offboarding before you buy. PSA links a Help Library and a Proven Academy from its training page. But the public help library page renders with nothing on it, and help, support and academy subdomains on canamsys.com don't resolve. There's no public article on exporting your data or closing an account. The only written commitment on the subject is in the data protection addendum, and it's a shall-if-asked, not a self-serve export. Get the exit in writing: what format your job history and general ledger come back in, how long it takes, and whether it costs anything.

One more thing worth knowing. PSA publishes a privacy policy and two data protection addenda and no contract at all. The Shopify default terms path returns 404. Yet the US addendum is drafted as a rider to a stack of documents that clearly exists: agreements, product supplements, statements of work, purchase orders and other instruments in effect between the parties. So the commercial terms are real, written, and deliberately not on the website. Ask for the master agreement in the first email, before the demo. Term length, notice period, auto-renewal and early termination are all invisible until you do, and a rep sending it early is a signal in itself.

One more thing worth knowing. PSA's integrations directory is a third not-integrations. Of 36 tiles, 12 are business consultancies and trade bodies: Business Mentors, JCMH Consulting, Sanktum, Restoration Made Simple, Pivot, KnowHow, plus RIA, CORE Group, Alacrity and Contractor Connection. That's not padding so much as a description of the category. Because in restoration, your software vendor, your consultant, your contractor network and the TPA that assigns you work are all in each other's ecosystems, and PSA runs branded onboarding forms for PuroClean Canada, Steamatic Canada, Winmar, Blue Kangaroo Packoutz and DKI. If you're in a franchise or a network like CORE or Contractor Connection, ask what your group's negotiated PSA arrangement is before you take a standalone quote. Because the affiliate relationships are the pricing lever nobody advertises.

One more thing worth knowing. PSA is the ledger, not a connector to one. Once Proven Accounting holds your chart of accounts, bank reconciliations, payables, inventory depreciation and automatic work-in-process, leaving means a full accounting migration, not a data export. And there's no public documentation on how you get any of it back: the help library page is empty, the help and academy subdomains do not resolve, and the only written return commitment is a request-based delete-or-return clause covering personal information in a data protection addendum. Before you migrate your books, get in writing what a full export contains, in what format, on what timeline, and at what cost. Because a ledger you can't extract is a switching cost that grows every month you stay.

Small thing that turns out to matter. Across the review record the complaint is sync, not features. A general manager: half the time the job you are searching for cannot be found on mobile. A manager: many days the time sheets do not sync and staff are missing hours. A crew chief: it does not clock out even though I did. A technician: the constant need to sync and not being able to clear the errors. So that is four different roles and one failure mode, and it lands in payroll rather than in convenience. Make mobile timecard reconciliation the pass/fail test of your evaluation. One crew, one full pay period, mobile against paper. If hours go missing in the trial they will go missing in production.

The PSA by Canam Systems review corpus, read by complaint

Every quote below is transcribed from a published review, named to the platform that carries it and to the reviewer as that platform displays them. We read the corpus by complaint type rather than by star rating, which is how the disqualifying detail buried inside a five-star review gets found.

"I loved the Job costing reports to see profitability. I loved the Work in progress reports to see where we are in each department and what needs to be improved I loved that notes can be transferred from PSA to Xactanalysis, reducing double data entry All file management can be done in one place."

An assistant director, construction, 11-50 employees who reviewed it on 2024-05-06 describes it on Capterra

"honestly I feel like you do NOT give my business value and are a tremendous time suck trying to fix all the problems we run into with your system."

But an owner, construction, 2+ years on the platform, describes it it differently on Capterra

"The fact I have to pay you for answers to problems with your software is mind blowing. email thru your system doesn't work and no one from psa will help us fix it."

On 2021-12-03, an owner, construction, 2+ years on the platform, writes on Capterra

"It feels like the program is created by many different people, so it's fractured/inconsistent in design. Functions I may use on a semi-regular basis is difficult to find later."

An operations manager, construction, 1-2 years on the platform, writing on 2021-12-03, writes on Capterra

"very bad timecard system, needs a lot of improvement. scheduling and project tracking not good at all, needs a lot of improvement too. The job lookup screen is VERY VERY slow."

But a brand director, construction, 2+ years on the platform, says it differently on Capterra

"it's better than anything else we have been able to find, however that still isn't good news"

And a brand director, construction, 2+ years on the platform, writing on 2021-09-30, says the same thing on Capterra

"The reporting feature is frustrating. Exporting to Excel does not happen smoothly and much manipulation is required."

And a general manager, construction, 1-2 years on the platform, writing on 2021-12-07, writes the same thing on Capterra

"The mobile app to me seems flawed. IMO it should auto sync, and finding and locating jobs is hard and half the time the job your searching for cant be found on mobile app."

And a general manager, construction, 1-2 years on the platform, writing on 2021-12-10, says the same thing on Capterra

"Many days the time sheets don't sync and the staff is missing hours"

A manager, construction, 1-2 years on the platform, writing on 2021-12-13, says on Capterra

"That sometimes does not sync on time or doesn't clock out even though I did."

And a crew chief, construction, 1-2 years on the platform, writing on 2021-12-03, writes the same thing on Capterra

"That is you can get training for your employees it works great. The training scope and sequence needs work. Implementation needs improvement."

On 2021-12-03, a HR, construction, 2+ years on the platform, reports it on Capterra

"A little too robust for a smaller company like us but we hope to one day utilize all the features of the software."

But a sales & marketing, construction, 1-2 years on the platform, reports it it differently on Capterra

"I have been learning and implementing for nearly a year now and still don't know all the benefits."

And an operations manager, construction, 1-2 years on the platform, writing on 2021-12-17, reports it the same thing on Capterra

"One other thing. the format of some system documents is really rough when I need to move them out of PSA to desktop, specifically, dry log and scope sheet."

An estimator, construction, 1-2 years on the platform, writing on 2021-12-03, writes on Capterra

What PSA by Canam Systems's competition charges

The realistic alternatives, and what each costs to start. Cheaper doesn't win here, and neither does expensive. Fit does.

Each vendor's own published pricing page, read on 7 August 2026. And prices are the entry tier, so read the billing unit beside them rather than the figure alone.
Tool Entry price Billing unit Users included Published?
PSA by Canam Systems Quote only Custom quote PSA describes itself as selling modules rather than seats: à No
AccuLynx $250 per month on Essential Not stated Yes
CompanyCam $63 per month on Core, 1 user included, additional users $29 each 1 on Core, 3 on Crew and Scale Yes
Encircle Quote only Quote on request Quote on request No
JobNimbus Quote only Quote on request, plans banded by user count Bands of up to 3, up to 10, up to 19, then 20 or more No
ServiceTitan Quote only Quote on request Quote on request No
Synchroteam $49 per month, as displayed on Capterra's PSA alternatives comparison Not stated in the comparison Yes

AccuLynx. It prints an actual entry figure, and its Elite tier is explicitly described as insurance restoration equipped, so you can at least anchor a budget before you take a call. But Only Essential carries a price. Pro and Elite both route to a custom price quote, and there's no general ledger, so you keep paying for accounting separately.

CompanyCam. Fully published per-seat pricing across three tiers, and the photo documentation trail that PSA reviewers keep leaving PSA's mobile app to get elsewhere. But It's documentation only. No ledger, no payroll, no work-in-process, no job costing. So it sits beside a system like PSA rather than replacing it.

Encircle. Restoration-native field capture and insurance-grade reporting, and it's already an approved PSA integration partner, so it's a complement as much as a competitor. But Its pricing page is headed Pricing that grows with your business and carries no dollar figure anywhere; the CTAs are Get a Demo, Start a Trial and Calculate Your Impact. Same opacity as PSA, less scope.

JobNimbus. A far lighter lift for a small crew, and a pipeline-first CRM rather than an ERP, so implementation is weeks not the near-year one PSA reviewer described. But Also unpriced, and it's a roofing-shaped product. No general ledger, no work-in-process, no restoration carrier stack.

ServiceTitan. Deeper service and dispatch operations at scale, and a much larger public review base at 4.3 from 339 reviews against PSA's 3.9 from 72. But Built for recurring service trades rather than insurance restoration. Capterra shows its price as Not provided by vendor, so you're quoting blind there too.

Synchroteam. The only alternative in PSA's own Capterra comparison block that shows a figure at all, at a fifth of PSA's aggregator-listed entry price. But Generic field service, not restoration. No Xactimate, no XactAnalysis, no work-in-process, none of the carrier ecosystem PSA exists to sit inside.

"honestly I feel like you do NOT give my business value and are a tremendous time suck trying to fix all the problems we run into with your system."

Capterra, Craige W. (2-03)

"The fact I have to pay you for answers to problems with your software is mind blowing. email thru your system doesn't work and no one from psa will help us fix it."

Capterra, Craige W. (2-03)

Who should not buy PSA by Canam Systems

Don't buy PSA by Canam Systems if you're A one to ten person restoration shop taking its first software off spreadsheets. PSA describes its own market as medium to large size businesses, and a reviewer at a small company said in as many words that it is a little too robust for a smaller company like us. On top of that, an operations manager was still learning and implementing after nearly a year. And a full ERP with a general ledger is not a first system. Look at CompanyCam instead.

Don't buy PSA by Canam Systems if you're A contractor who wants to compare shortlist prices before booking calls. There's no pricing page at all. The only figure anywhere is $325 on two aggregators that share a feed, attached to a plan name PSA doesn't sell. So you can't shortlist PSA on price. You can only qualify into a demo. Look at AccuLynx instead.

Don't buy PSA by Canam Systems if you're A Mac-based office, or one whose QuickBooks lives on Right Networks. PSA states plainly that the QBD Sync cannot be installed on a Mac, and that Right Networks cloud hosting will not allow the PSA QBD Sync to be installed. So if your books are in either place, the accounting bridge that justifies the whole purchase doesn't install. Look at Knowify instead.

Don't buy PSA by Canam Systems if you're A field-heavy crew that needs the phone to be the primary interface. Mobile is the single most consistent complaint in the review record: slow, sync failures, jobs not findable, clock-outs that do not take, and notes fields that will not scroll. But the office side is what reviewers praise. Look at FieldPulse instead.

The verdict, by shop size

Owner-operator to small crew

No. PSA sells itself to medium to large size businesses and the review record backs that up: one small-company reviewer called it a little too robust for a smaller company like us, and another was still learning and implementing after nearly a year. So at this size you're buying a general ledger you don't need, an implementation you can't staff, and a price you can't see. This band runs 1 to 10 on the crew, doing residential and insurance work, and that's the profile the recommendation is written for.

Established restoration firm with a controller

Only under conditions, and they are worth being honest about. This is PSA's actual band and the accounting case is genuine: automatic work-in-process, over and under billing adjustments, payroll hours in and journal entries back. Conditional on three answers before signature. Get the master agreement and its term. Confirm your QuickBooks host allows the QBD Sync and price the extra licence. And run one crew on mobile timecards through a full pay period, because missing hours is the most repeated complaint in the record. This band runs 15 to 75 on the crew, doing insurance and residential and commercial work, and that's the profile the recommendation is written for.

Multi-branch or franchise restoration group

Yes, and this is the shape the product is built for. PSA services over 1,500 restoration contractors including a number of franchise groups across North America, and it runs branded franchise onboarding for PuroClean Canada, Steamatic Canada, Winmar, Blue Kangaroo Packoutz, DKI and 1-800 Water Damage. So at this size, one system holding the ledger and the carrier integrations is worth more than the price opacity costs you. And you have the negotiating position to fix the contract terms anyway. This band runs 75 or more on the crew, doing insurance and commercial work, and that's the profile the recommendation is written for.

Mac-based office, or QuickBooks hosted on Right Networks

No. PSA states outright that the QBD Sync cannot be installed on a Mac and that Right Networks will not allow the PSA QBD Sync to be installed. The accounting bridge is the reason to buy PSA. So if it can't be installed, the purchase doesn't make sense. This band runs undefined or more on the crew, doing insurance and residential work, and that's the profile the recommendation is written for.

One thing to check before you sign with PSA by Canam Systems

We should declare an interest, or rather the absence of one. Fervor takes nothing from PSA by Canam Systems or any of its rivals. What we've got is data on the demand side.

PSA by Canam Systems can get away with publishing no price, no contract and no public help library because it sells into restoration franchise groups and TPA networks, where the work is assigned before any homeowner ever visits a website. But most restoration contractors aren't inside that arrangement. Their next job is a homeowner standing in four inches of water at eleven at night, holding a phone, thumbing through the three companies whose sites work at 390 pixels wide. PSA by Canam Systems runs the job competently once it's assigned, and reviewers say its own mobile half is the weak one. But neither of those facts helps a contractor whose site was never built to win the small screen the emergency happens on.

And the number is worse than anyone guesses before they check. Across 380 inspected contractor sites, 82.8% were slow enough on a phone to lose an impatient visitor. But check the method before you take the number, which is why it is published. The workings are public in the Contractor CRO Index.

"82.8% of the 380 contractor websites inspected were slow enough on a phone to lose an impatient visitor."

Fervor Studio Contractor CRO Index (2026)

Buy the platform if it fits. But spend ten minutes on your own site first, on a phone, on mobile data, the way a homeowner would. The numbers are all public.

See where your site is losing the jobs PSA by Canam Systems would have managed

We run your site the way a customer does, on a phone, and report exactly where the enquiries stop. Three days.

Get a Site Inspection

What we checked on PSA by Canam Systems, and what we didn't

Worth saying plainly: this is desk research on PSA by Canam Systems, not a season in the field with it. What it is instead: PSA by Canam Systems's own 16 pages read line by line on 7 August 2026, plus the review corpus read by complaint type rather than by star rating. And every figure above traces to a page we opened on that date, pricing included.

So: 14 quotes on this page, 14 from Capterra.

And https://canamsys.com/policies/terms-of-service — returns HTTP 404, no terms of service is published, https://canamsys.com/policies/refund-policy — returns HTTP 404, no refund policy is published, https://canamsys.com/pages/pricing — returns HTTP 404, no pricing page exists, https://help.canamsys.com — DNS does not resolve, https://support.canamsys.com — DNS does not resolve, https://academy.canamsys.com — DNS does not resolve, so Proven Academy is gated, https://www.capterra.com/... via curl — returns HTTP 403 to non-browser agents; read through WebFetch instead, G2 — not reachable in this session, TrustRadius — not reachable in this session, Trustpilot — not reachable in this session and Reddit — not reachable in this session refused automated retrieval for PSA by Canam Systems. Forum and social threads are the ones people most want quoted, and they are exactly the ones we cannot verify, so none of them are here.

What that leaves untested: apple App Store and Google Play listings for Proven Smart Tech Mobile — not located; PSA links no store badge from its site. And everything above is 16 vendor pages and a review corpus, which is documentary rather than hands-on.

What PSA by Canam Systems users say

I loved the Job costing reports to see profitability. I loved the Work in progress reports to see where we are in each department and what needs to be improved I loved that notes can be transferred from PSA to Xactanalysis, reducing double data entry All file management can be done in one place.
Tina N.Capterra
honestly I feel like you do NOT give my business value and are a tremendous time suck trying to fix all the problems we run into with your system.
Craige W.Capterra
The fact I have to pay you for answers to problems with your software is mind blowing. email thru your system doesn't work and no one from psa will help us fix it.
Craige W.Capterra
It feels like the program is created by many different people, so it's fractured/inconsistent in design. Functions I may use on a semi-regular basis is difficult to find later.
Andrea M.Capterra
very bad timecard system, needs a lot of improvement. scheduling and project tracking not good at all, needs a lot of improvement too. The job lookup screen is VERY VERY slow.
Jessica S.Capterra
it's better than anything else we have been able to find, however that still isn't good news
Jessica S.Capterra
The reporting feature is frustrating. Exporting to Excel does not happen smoothly and much manipulation is required.
Kelly R.Capterra
The mobile app to me seems flawed. IMO it should auto sync, and finding and locating jobs is hard and half the time the job your searching for cant be found on mobile app.
Daniel S.Capterra
Many days the time sheets don't sync and the staff is missing hours
Darcy Z.Capterra
That sometimes does not sync on time or doesn't clock out even though I did.
Jose C.Capterra
That is you can get training for your employees it works great. The training scope and sequence needs work. Implementation needs improvement.
Monica T.Capterra
A little too robust for a smaller company like us but we hope to one day utilize all the features of the software.
Stephanie W.Capterra
I have been learning and implementing for nearly a year now and still don't know all the benefits.
Rachelle W.Capterra
One other thing. the format of some system documents is really rough when I need to move them out of PSA to desktop, specifically, dry log and scope sheet.
Trish J.Capterra

Frequently asked questions

Is this PSA or TrueBuilt?

PSA. The two names are unrelated products that ended up in the same slug. PSA stands for Proven Software Applications and is a restoration ERP from Canam Systems (2002) Inc., which moved into insurance restoration in 2002 and now services over 1,500 restoration contractors across North America. But TrueBuilt is a separate company in Huntington Beach selling AI-driven quantity takeoff and estimation to general contractors and subcontractors. Nothing in the restoration workflow points at TrueBuilt, so this bank covers PSA.

How much does PSA cost?

The vendor doesn't say. There's no pricing page on canamsys.com, the /pages/pricing path returns a 404, and the sitemap's 89 pages contain no pricing page. Capterra and Software Advice both list a starting price of $325 per month under a plan called Basic. But PSA sells no plan by that name, and those two profiles share a feed, so it's one figure repeated rather than two independent confirmations. Treat $325 as a floor to sanity-check a quote against, not as a budget.

What extras should I expect on top of the subscription?

Three that are documented. A $50 per month unlimited integration package, introduced in March 2023 to replace per-integration charges. On-site training, which is the one service explicitly carved out of PSA's unlimited training and support. And, if you run QuickBooks Desktop, a dedicated extra QuickBooks licence so the sync can run automatically. PSA's own worked example is that three licences and three users means buying a fourth.

Does PSA replace QuickBooks or connect to it?

Both are on offer, and that's the decision. Proven Accounting is a full ledger of its own, with chart of accounts, bank reconciliation, payables, receivables, inventory, depreciation and automatic work-in-process. And separately there's a QBD Sync for firms keeping QuickBooks Desktop. But the sync carries real prerequisites: a dedicated licence for automatic operation, a stationary Windows host, no Accountant's Copy checked out, and a hosting provider that permits third-party installs, which rules out Right Networks.

How many things does PSA integrate with?

Twenty-four software products, counted by hand from the Integrated Partners directory on 2026-08-07. The page shows 36 tiles: 5 under Proven Accounting, 19 under Proven Jobs and Proven CRM, 8 Consultants and 4 PSA Affiliates. The last twelve are consultancies and trade bodies such as RIA and CORE Group, not integrations. The restoration-relevant ones are the carrier and capture stack: Xactware, Symbility and CoreLogic, Verisk, Cotality, Matterport, DocuSketch, magicplan and Encircle.

How do I get my data out if I leave?

There's no public answer, which is itself the answer. PSA's help library page renders empty and its help, support and academy subdomains don't resolve, so there's no article on export or account closure to read before you buy. The only written commitment is in the US Data Protection Addendum, which says the service provider shall, as reasonably requested, delete or return all Personal Information at the end of the provision of services. But that's a request-based return, not a self-serve export, and it covers personal information rather than your job history and ledger. Reviewers separately report that exporting to Excel does not happen smoothly and that dry logs and scope sheets come out rough. So get the exit terms in writing before you sign.

Are the bad reviews still accurate?

Partly, and you should check the date on each one. Capterra shows 3.9 out of 5 from 72 reviews, and sorted by most recent the newest is May 6, 2024 with almost everything else clustered in late 2021. Some 2021 complaints are provably stale: the owner furious about paying for answers to problems with the software was writing before March 2023, when PSA moved every customer onto packages including unlimited training and support. But the mobile sync complaints have no such published fix, so those are the ones to test yourself.

Is there a free trial?

Capterra lists a free trial with no credit card required, and one Capterra reviewer is flagged as a free trial user. But PSA's own site never mentions a trial. What it has offered instead is deferred billing: a sign-up page states you will not be billed until 60 days after your sign up date. So confirm which of the two you're being given, because a 60-day deferral still starts a contract.

Freshness

How we keep this page current

Three dates govern this review, and they carry different meanings. The initial source sweep is dated August 7, 2026; when only part of the evidence set is recaptured later, that later date is stated beside the refreshed claim. We last revised the page on August 7, 2026. And the user reviews we quote were posted over roughly the last 24 months, so their individual dates remain part of the evidence instead of being overwritten by a later pricing update.

We revise the page when PSA by Canam Systems changes a published price or a contract term, when a rating we cite moves by more than a few tenths, or when the vendor ships something big enough to change the verdict. We never bump the date just to look fresh, because Google treats that as manipulation and so do we. If a figure here reads as stale by the time you land on it, treat it as a floor and check the vendor's own page. We linked it at every number for exactly that reason.

Sourcing

How this review was researched

Every figure on this page traces to a captured source linked inline where it appears. The initial sweep is dated August 7, 2026; any later, partial recapture is dated at the claim rather than relabelling the whole evidence set. Ratings come from Capterra, GetApp, Software Advice and the Apple App Store. Note that Capterra, GetApp and Software Advice share one Gartner Digital Markets review pool, so an identical score across all three is a single sample rather than three corroborating ones, and this page treats it that way. G2, TrustRadius and Trustpilot block automated access, so where their numbers appear they are labelled as reported rather than verified. No claim here is sourced from Reddit or from a contractor Facebook group, because neither could be retrieved and quoting them would mean inventing attribution. Pricing marked as reported comes from third-party roundups, never from Fervor. Fervor's own findings come from the Contractor CRO Index 2026.

About

About Fervor Studio

Fervor Studio is a conversion rate optimization (CRO) and web design studio for home services contractors across North America, based in Cochrane, Alberta. Fervor does not sell field service management software and is not an alternative to PSA by Canam Systems. It publishes the Contractor CRO Index, a public benchmark measuring contractor website conversion potential using reproducible, open-source methods such as axe-core and Google Lighthouse. Fervor Studio is operated by Fervor Group Inc.

Get My Site Inspection