FieldEdge Review 2026: Pricing, Pros, Cons, Alternatives
Third-party contract data puts real numbers on FieldEdge. The 7 gaps reviewers name, and 5 alternatives that publish a price upfront.
Disclosure This article features tools from our brand partners. If you choose to use them, we may receive compensation at no extra cost to you.
Our editorial choices are independent of these affiliate arrangements. Read our full affiliate disclosure.
Fervor is a CRO and web design studio, not a software reseller, and no vendor paid for placement here or for a kinder verdict. Affiliate links are flagged where they appear, and they never change what we report.
Page at a glance
FieldEdge is quote-only field service management for multi-truck residential and light commercial service shops, built around a real-time QuickBooks sync and sold on a term contract that auto-renews. It publishes no price, so the only way to get a number is to ask a salesperson for one. The pricing page names how many technicians or employees are on your team as a pricing factor but never states the billing unit, and the only per-head detail it publishes is the mobile app licence count that steps 2, 4, 6 across the three tiers. A long-tenure reviewer describes paying a yearly support fee plus a per-user fee to use the mobile function, so the mobile side at least is metered per head on top of the base. Get the unit in writing before you count seats. It fits a 3 to 25 person residential and light commercial service company that already runs its books in QuickBooks and wants dispatch, mobile and invoicing sitting on top of the accounting file rather than beside it. It's the wrong buy for A general contractor or commercial mechanical shop running long, phased projects with progress billing, submittals and retainage., because A reviewer running an entirely commercial book describes constant work-arounds and says the product would suit a residential and light commercial company instead. The feature set at every tier is built around service calls, not job phases. Alternatives that publish their prices are Housecall Pro from $59, Jobber from $49, Service Fusion from $245. A quote-only price and what third parties report instead, seven evidenced gaps and five alternatives, three of which publish a figure.
The short verdict on FieldEdge
FieldEdge earns its money with a 3 to 25 person residential and light commercial service company that already runs its books in QuickBooks and wants dispatch, mobile and invoicing sitting on top of the accounting file rather than beside it. If that's you, it does the job. The sections below are the parts worth checking before you sign. But the fit is narrower than the marketing suggests, and the price isn't the whole cost.
The vendor publishes no price. But every number below was verified on 7 August 2026 and comes from a named third party that says which.
| Pricing model | Custom quote, no published price |
|---|---|
| Entry price | Quote only |
| Users | The pricing page names how many technicians or employees are on your team as a pricing fac |
| Ownership | Xplor Technologies |
| Best fit | a 3 to 25 person residential and light commercial service company that already runs its books in QuickBooks and wants dispatch, mobile and invoicing sitting on top of the accounting file rather than beside it. |
| Accounting sync | QuickBooks (two-way), QuickBooks (vendor positioning claim) (two-way) |
What works
- The QuickBooks sync is the product
- Dispatching is tiered, and the entry tier is deliberately thin
- Multi-option quotes start at the middle tier, and customer approval is a known gap
- Saved reports are rationed until the top tier
- Export exists, and it's five manual spreadsheet pulls
What does not
- The processing rate you're quoted at signing isn't in the contract you sign
- Missing the 60 day non-renewal window costs you the entire next year
- Nothing in the contract gives you your data back on the way out
- Mobile is metered on top of the base, and the meter has moved
- Long, multi-phase commercial projects run into the design, not the settings
FieldEdge is quote-only field service management for multi-truck residential and light commercial service shops, built around a real-time QuickBooks sync and sold on a term contract that auto-renews. It sells to Cross-trade and HVAC and Plumbing contractors, and the shape of the product follows from that: The vendor's own framing is that 'information seamlessly flows in real-time between FieldEdge and QuickBooks', and the partner page positions it as the reason to choose FieldEdge over the rest of the category. But neither page names which QuickBooks editions are supported or which records move in which direction, so the depth of the sync is something you have to establish in the demo.
Ownership matters here more than it usually does. FieldEdge is owned by Xplor Technologies, so weigh roadmap risk alongside the feature list. An independent product can be bought and folded into somebody else's plan two years after you sign.
Who should be shortlisting FieldEdge
It fits a 3 to 25 person residential and light commercial service company that already runs its books in QuickBooks and wants dispatch, mobile and invoicing sitting on top of the accounting file rather than beside it. That's the half most reviews print. Here's the other half, which is the one worth your time.
Don't buy it if you're A general contractor or commercial mechanical shop running long, phased projects with progress billing, submittals and retainage.. A reviewer running an entirely commercial book describes constant work-arounds and says the product would suit a residential and light commercial company instead. The feature set at every tier is built around service calls, not job phases. Look at BuildOps instead.
Don't buy it if you're A one or two person operation that wants to see the price before it books a call.. Nothing is published, the entry tier caps mobile at two licences, and a reviewer reports being refused a trial demo. So you'll spend a sales cycle to learn a number that competitors put on a page. Look at Jobber instead.
Don't buy it if you're A shop that isn't on QuickBooks and doesn't intend to move.. The real-time QuickBooks sync is the reason to buy this over anything else in the category, and one reviewer reports the dependency extending as far as user creation. So without QuickBooks you're paying for the headline feature and not using it. Look at Service Fusion instead.
Don't buy it if you're Anyone who can't commit to a multi-month term and a diarised cancellation date.. The agreement auto-renews for 12 months on 60 days notice and prices early exit at every remaining month of the term. So if your headcount or your trade mix might change inside a year, that's a real liability. Look at Service Fusion instead.
FieldEdge's price, and the part that isn't the price
Open the pricing page and count the dollar figures. There aren't any. FieldEdge keeps its numbers behind a sales call, and that's the first thing worth knowing before you book one.
The vendor's own wording is this, and nothing more: "Three tiers are named on the pricing page and not one of them carries a figure. The page answers the question with a shrug and a demo booking link, and it names team size and add-ons as the variables without saying which of them the meter actually runs on." So treat every third-party page printing tier names and figures for FieldEdge with careful suspicion. Those numbers are not on the vendor's site today, and a roundup that reprints them is telling you what FieldEdge used to charge somebody else.
And we aren't going to print a per-month number we can't open a vendor page and read. What exists instead is third-party reporting, dated, from people who saw real contracts. Read it as a range rather than as a quote you can hold anyone to.
| Reported range | Reported on | Source |
|---|---|---|
| $1,500 onboarding fee | 2022-01-13 | A reviewer who cancelled inside six months states the onboarding fee he paid, which is the only hard dollar figure attached to FieldEdge that comes from someone who actually signed. |
| per-tablet charge rising from 15 to over 45 | 2019-11-12 | A two-year customer describes the per-tablet line moving inside a single renewal, which brackets the mobile licence cost even though no plan price is attached to it. |
| an increase of almost 25% in one year, plus a yearly support fee and a per-user fee to use mobile | 2021-08-23 | A two-year customer states the size of a single annual increase and confirms the mobile app is billed on top of the base, which is the closest thing to a rate card anyone publishes. |
The pricing page names how many technicians or employees are on your team as a pricing factor but never states the billing unit, and the only per-head detail it publishes is the mobile app licence count that steps 2, 4, 6 across the three tiers. A long-tenure reviewer describes paying a yearly support fee plus a per-user fee to use the mobile function, so the mobile side at least is metered per head on top of the base. Get the unit in writing before you count seats.
What isn't in the FieldEdge number you get quoted
Payment processing. Card processing is not FieldEdge's to promise. Section 5.6 of the Xplor terms deems Payment Services a Third Party Service and pushes the rate into a separate merchant agreement between you and the processor, and section 5.7 references a Stripe Connected Account Agreement. Section 2.4 lets Xplor raise pricing whenever card scheme fees or interchange rise. That is exactly the gap an office manager fell through when the 2.7% he was quoted at signing arrived as 3.4%.
Implementation and onboarding. Implementation fees exist and the terms say so, but no amount is published. Section 3.1 states that if go-live slips because of something you did or failed to do, Xplor may bill its set-up costs on a time and materials basis and any agreed implementation fees become immediately due and payable without discount. One reviewer records paying $1,500 in onboarding fees and not getting them back.
Minimum term. The terms define Initial License Period as whatever the Order Form says, so the length is per deal and never appears in the public document. Ask for the Initial License Period in months, in writing, before you look at a single feature. One reviewer describes a two-year commitment.
Getting out. The Early Termination Fee is the whole remaining term, not a capped penalty. The definition reads: Early Termination Fees means the amount equal to the relevant monthly Fees multiplied by the number of months remaining in the Initial License Period or Renewal Period (as appropriate). Section 13.4 makes it payable whenever you terminate for any reason other than Xplor's material breach or insolvency.
Auto-renewal. Section 2.2 renews the agreement for successive 12 month periods unless either party gives written notice at least 60 days before the period ends. Miss that 60 day window by a day and you own another twelve months, and section 13.4 prices the exit at every one of them.
Modules sold separately. , , , . And an add-on you need in week one is part of what FieldEdge costs, so the number to compare is the configuration you'd really run.
Third-party services you will also pay for. , . These are not on FieldEdge's invoice, and they are still part of what this decision costs you every month.
"Third-party reporting puts FieldEdge at $1,500 onboarding fee, reported 2022-01-13."
A reviewer who cancelled inside six months states the onboarding fee he paid, which is the only hard dollar figure attached to FieldEdge that comes from someone who actually signed. (1-13)
A tangent, but stay with it. The exit is priced at the whole remaining term and the door is only open for 60 days a year. Section 2.2 auto-renews for 12 months unless written notice arrives 60 days before expiry, and the Early Termination Fee is defined as the monthly fee multiplied by every month left in the period. Those two clauses work together: miss the notice window by one day and the cheapest way out of the next twelve months is to pay for all twelve. So on the day you sign, put the notice deadline in a shared calendar with a 90 day warning and name the person who owns sending it. That single calendar entry is worth more than any feature negotiation you'll have.
The FieldEdge line items nobody mentions
The subscription is the part everyone quotes. These are the lines that land afterwards, and the ones we could not find are named as unpublished rather than left blank.
Sold separately. , , , . Price the configuration you'll really run, because an add-on you need on day one is part of the price.
Third-party services you'll also pay for. , . None of these are on FieldEdge's invoice, and all of them are part of what this decision costs every month.
"FieldEdge answers the question of what it costs with this and nothing else: "Three tiers are named on the pricing page and not one of them carries a figure. The page answers the question with a shrug and a demo booking link, and it names team size and add-ons as the variables without saying which of them the meter actually runs on.""
FieldEdge pricing page (2026)
"The pricing page names how many technicians or employees are on your team as a pricing factor but never states the billing unit, and the only per-head detail it publishes is the mobile app licence count that steps 2, 4, 6 across the three tiers. A long-tenure reviewer describes paying a yearly support fee plus a per-user fee to use the mobile function, so the mobile side at least is metered per head on top of the base. Get the unit in writing before you count seats."
FieldEdge pricing page (2026)
"FieldEdge is reported at $1,500 onboarding fee as of 2022-01-13."
A reviewer who cancelled inside six months states the onboarding fee he paid, which is the only hard dollar figure attached to FieldEdge that comes from someone who actually signed. (1-13)
The six workflows you pay for
Feature totals are noise. So a shop in this category lives or dies on six things, and those are the six to grade, and each one below carries the evidence it's graded on.
The QuickBooks sync is the product. The vendor's own framing is that 'information seamlessly flows in real-time between FieldEdge and QuickBooks', and the partner page positions it as the reason to choose FieldEdge over the rest of the category. But neither page names which QuickBooks editions are supported or which records move in which direction, so the depth of the sync is something you have to establish in the demo. An owner, construction, Less than 6 months on the platform, writing on 2020-09-18, describes it: "You cannot create new employees in fieldedge. The only way you can create users is based on full time employees you have built in quickbooks."
Dispatching is tiered, and the entry tier is deliberately thin. The pricing page splits Basic Dispatching on Select from Advanced Dispatching on Premier and Elite without saying what the difference is. So if dispatch is the reason you're buying, the tier that carries the version you want is the one you should be pricing.
Multi-option quotes start at the middle tier, and customer approval is a known gap. Select is limited to single-option quotes, so good-better-best pricing requires Premier or Elite. And an owner separately reports that a customer receiving a quote by email had no way to approve the work order, which is the difference between a quote and a sold job. An owner, construction, Less than 6 months on the platform, writing on 2020-09-18, writes: "when you e-mail a quote to a customer the customer has no way of approving that work order."
Saved reports are rationed until the top tier. Select gets no saved reports at all, Premier gets ten, and only Elite is unlimited. And performance and commission tracking and prospect tracking are both off the entry tier entirely, so the numbers a growing shop wants are bundled with the tier that also carries the marketing add-ons.
Export exists, and it's five manual spreadsheet pulls. The documented route out is exporting Customers, Dispatching, Invoices, Quotes and an Equipment List one tab at a time to XLSX, with invoice filters set to All, and running them in one year batches when they error. It works. But it's a person's afternoon rather than a button, and the contract gives you no window after termination in which to do it. On 2023-05-01, a consumer services, 11-50 employees, not stated on the platform, says: "when you leave the program, you lose all of YOUR information, unless you are willing to pay for it."
Mobile licences are counted, not unlimited. Two on Select, four on Premier, six on Elite. And every technician beyond that is a line item whose price isn't published, while two long-tenure reviewers describe that line moving upward between renewals. An owner, construction, 2+ years on the platform, writes it plainly: "My per tablet prices went from 15 per tablet to over 45"
FieldEdge trade fit
Fit differs by trade rather than by company size alone, and a blended paragraph hides that. Here is the split for the trades this one sells to.
Cross-trade. The workflow that decides it is the quickbooks sync is the product, and the shop profile that gets value is a 3 to 25 person residential and light commercial service company that already runs its books in QuickBooks and wants dispatch, mobile and invoicing sitting on top of the accounting file rather than beside it. doing residential and service work. Where it stops being a fit is A general contractor or commercial mechanical shop running long, phased projects with progress billing, submittals and retainage..
HVAC. The workflow that decides it is the quickbooks sync is the product, and the shop profile that gets value is a 3 to 25 person residential and light commercial service company that already runs its books in QuickBooks and wants dispatch, mobile and invoicing sitting on top of the accounting file rather than beside it. doing residential and service work. Where it stops being a fit is A general contractor or commercial mechanical shop running long, phased projects with progress billing, submittals and retainage..
Plumbing. The workflow that decides it is the quickbooks sync is the product, and the shop profile that gets value is a 3 to 25 person residential and light commercial service company that already runs its books in QuickBooks and wants dispatch, mobile and invoicing sitting on top of the accounting file rather than beside it. doing residential and service work. Where it stops being a fit is A general contractor or commercial mechanical shop running long, phased projects with progress billing, submittals and retainage..
Your books, and whether FieldEdge connects to them
QuickBooks connects both ways, on every plan. QuickBooks (vendor positioning claim) connects both ways, on every plan. Your costs map through cost codes, so test yours against your own chart of accounts before you commit. A code your books don't recognise is how a labour charge quietly lands somewhere useless.
Past those, the road ends. Xero, Any countable public integrations directory do not connect. So if your books run on an ERP rather than the platforms named above, weigh that before anything else.
Beyond accounting it connects to Partner marketplace (count not verifiable) (The vendor states a partner count on its own blog. But the marketplace that would let anyone verify it returns HTTP 403 to an ordinary fetch, so the number below is a vendor claim and not a count we performed.), FieldEdge Payments (In-platform card processing, delivered through a third party processor under a separate merchant agreement per section 5.6 of the Xplor terms.), MarketingEdge (A marketing add-on bundled into Elite and quoted separately on Select and Premier.), Proposal Pro (A proposal and in-home sales add-on bundled into Elite and quoted separately on the lower tiers.). A public API exists: A public API portal exists at docs.api.fieldedge.com, hosted on Microsoft Azure API Management. No page we could open states whether API access is included, tier gated, or separately priced, and the pricing table does not mention it.
Getting help from FieldEdge, and getting it fast
Support is the line item nobody prices and everybody eventually needs. Onboarding for FieldEdge: Implementation fees exist and the terms say so, but no amount is published. Section 3.1 states that if go-live slips because of something you did or failed to do, Xplor may bill its set-up costs on a time and materials basis and any agreed implementation fees become immediately due and payable without discount. One reviewer records paying $1,500 in onboarding fees and not getting them back.
A vice president, construction, 2+ years on the platform, writing on 2020-07-23, describes it: "FE was the easiest software implementation we've done in 35 years. (We were coming over from Wintac) Customer support is top notch and my reps are super responsive."
And an owner, not stated on the platform, writing on not shown, reports it the same thing: "It's a process (as with any large install) to get everything set up, but I have to say that the customer support has been excellent."
FieldEdge lock-in, in plain terms
Nobody reads this section before they buy, and it's the one that costs money afterwards. Four terms decide what leaving looks like.
Minimum term. The terms define Initial License Period as whatever the Order Form says, so the length is per deal and never appears in the public document. Ask for the Initial License Period in months, in writing, before you look at a single feature. One reviewer describes a two-year commitment.
Auto-renewal. Section 2.2 renews the agreement for successive 12 month periods unless either party gives written notice at least 60 days before the period ends. Miss that 60 day window by a day and you own another twelve months, and section 13.4 prices the exit at every one of them.
Early termination. The Early Termination Fee is the whole remaining term, not a capped penalty. The definition reads: Early Termination Fees means the amount equal to the relevant monthly Fees multiplied by the number of months remaining in the Initial License Period or Renewal Period (as appropriate). Section 13.4 makes it payable whenever you terminate for any reason other than Xplor's material breach or insolvency.
Payment processing. Card processing is not FieldEdge's to promise. Section 5.6 of the Xplor terms deems Payment Services a Third Party Service and pushes the rate into a separate merchant agreement between you and the processor, and section 5.7 references a Stripe Connected Account Agreement. Section 2.4 lets Xplor raise pricing whenever card scheme fees or interchange rise. That is exactly the gap an office manager fell through when the 2.7% he was quoted at signing arrived as 3.4%.
One oddity, filed under things nobody mentions on a demo. The contract ends your access before it addresses your records. Section 13.3.1 terminates every licence on expiry and requires you to immediately cease accessing the Solution, while the only data obligation that follows, in section 10.1.9, covers Client Personal Data, on your request, to the extent reasonably practical. Your invoice history and equipment records aren't Client Personal Data. And that structural gap is what a reviewer is describing when she says leaving means losing your information unless you pay for it. So run the five-tab XLSX export quarterly for as long as you're a customer. If your only copy of ten years of service history lives in a platform whose contract switches off your access on the expiry date, you don't own that history.
"FieldEdge is reported at per-tablet charge rising from 15 to over 45 as of 2019-11-12."
A two-year customer describes the per-tablet line moving inside a single renewal, which brackets the mobile licence cost even though no plan price is attached to it. (1-12)
"The pricing has increased by almost 25% this year alone. In order to use the mobile function you will have to pay a yearly support fee plus a per user fee."
Capterra, David R. (8-23)
"My per tablet prices went from 15 per tablet to over 45"
Capterra, Susan B. (1-12)
The FieldEdge problems that survive onboarding
Every one of these is checkable on a demo call. None of it is a matter of taste, and each one traces to a vendor page or a named reviewer.
The processing rate you're quoted at signing isn't in the contract you sign. Payment Services sit outside the software agreement as a Third Party Service under a separate merchant agreement, so a verbal rate from a salesperson has no document behind it. And an office manager records being promised 2.7% and billed 3.4% from the first month. An office manager, construction, 6-12 months on the platform, writing on 2024-09-19, reports it: "We were promised at signing a rate of 2.7% for each credit card transaction. The merchant service provider, Clearent, their owner, charged us 3.4% right off the bat." Ask for the merchant agreement and the rate schedule as separate documents before you sign the software order form, and refuse to treat the software quote as covering both.
Missing the 60 day non-renewal window costs you the entire next year. Section 2.2 of the Xplor terms renews for successive 12 month periods unless written notice lands at least 60 days out, and the Early Termination Fee is defined as the monthly fee multiplied by every month remaining in that period. And there's no cap and no pro-rata relief. Put the non-renewal deadline in a calendar with a 90 day reminder on the day you sign, and send notice in writing to the address in the order form rather than to your account rep.
Nothing in the contract gives you your data back on the way out. Section 13.3.1 terminates every licence immediately on expiry and requires you to stop using the platform. Section 10.1.9 promises return or deletion of Client Personal Data only on your request and only where reasonably practical, and it covers personal data rather than your job history, invoices and equipment records. A reviewer states that leaving means losing your information unless you pay for it. And a consumer services, 11-50 employees, not stated on the platform, writing on 2023-05-01, puts it the same thing: "when you leave the program, you lose all of YOUR information, unless you are willing to pay for it." Export customers, dispatching, invoices, quotes and the equipment list to XLSX on a schedule while you're still a customer, not on the day you cancel.
Mobile is metered on top of the base, and the meter has moved. The three tiers include 2, 4 and 6 mobile app licences and the price of the next one isn't published anywhere. And one two-year customer reports paying a yearly support fee plus a per-user fee to use mobile at all, while another reports the per-tablet charge tripling. On 2019-11-12, an owner, construction, 2+ years on the platform, says: "My per tablet prices went from 15 per tablet to over 45" Price the seventh technician before you sign, and get the per-licence rate and its escalation cap written into the order form.
Long, multi-phase commercial projects run into the design, not the settings. A service project manager at an entirely commercial shop describes the product as a good fit for residential and light commercial and a source of work-arounds for anything phased. The tier table backs this up: what the top tier adds is call recording, marketing and a consumer portal, all residential concerns. On 2022-10-13, a service project manager, construction, 6-12 months on the platform, says: "FieldEdge would probably be great for an RLC (residential/light commercial) company. But as a company that is entirely commercial with many long, multi-phase projects, it leaves much to be desired and demands work-arounds." If more than a third of your revenue is phased commercial work with progress billing and retainage, demo that exact job end to end before you commit.
The QuickBooks dependency runs deeper than an accounting sync. An owner reports that new users couldn't be created inside FieldEdge at all and had to exist as full time employees in QuickBooks first. That's an administrative dependency rather than an integration convenience. So your accounting file governs who can log in. On 2020-09-18, an owner, construction, Less than 6 months on the platform, says: "You cannot create new employees in fieldedge. The only way you can create users is based on full time employees you have built in quickbooks." Ask how subcontractors and seasonal helpers get platform access when they aren't payroll employees in your QuickBooks file.
The contract explicitly disclaims whatever the demo promised. Section 3.10 states that your purchase is not contingent on the delivery of any future functionality or features and is not dependent on any oral or written public comments by Xplor regarding future functionality. And two separate reviewers describe the product being oversold, so this clause is why that argument goes nowhere afterwards. Anything a salesperson demonstrates that you're buying it for belongs in the order form as a written deliverable, because the base terms say the demo doesn't count.
One more thing worth knowing. the processing rate a salesperson quotes is legally not FieldEdge's to quote. Section 5.6 deems Payment Services a Third Party Service under a separate merchant agreement between you and the processor, and section 5.7 references a Stripe Connected Account Agreement. So when an office manager says he was promised 2.7% at signing and charged 3.4% from the first transaction, the software contract he signed never contained the promise in the first place. So treat the processing rate as a second negotiation with a second counterparty. Get the merchant agreement and its rate schedule in hand before you sign the software order form, and don't let a bundled demo convince you the two are one deal.
One more thing worth knowing. the best public documentation for getting out of FieldEdge is published by a competitor. ServiceTitan maintains a step-by-step guide to exporting Customers, Dispatching, Invoices, Quotes and Equipment from FieldEdge, down to the detail that you must set the invoice filters to All before exporting and run one year batches when the export errors. FieldEdge's own guides site has no equivalent article we could find. The export works, so use it while things are calm. Pull all five files now and confirm the invoice count matches your QuickBooks totals, because the time to discover a broken export isn't the week your notice period expires.
One more thing worth knowing. mobile licences are the hidden meter in a category that mostly sells seats openly. The three tiers include exactly 2, 4 and 6 mobile app licences and the price of the seventh is published nowhere. Two long-tenure reviewers describe that specific line moving: one reports a per-tablet charge going from 15 to over 45, the other reports a yearly support fee plus a per-user fee simply to use mobile. Growth in this product is billed at the truck. So price your headcount two years out, not today. Ask for the per-licence rate and an escalation cap in the order form, then compare that total against a flat-fee unlimited-user platform before you decide.
A tangent, but stay with it. The oversold-demo complaint is a clause, not an accident of individual salespeople. Two reviewers on Software Advice, eighteen months apart, use almost the same words: one says the system does not do what was promised, the other says the platform was misrepresented. And section 3.10 of the terms says your purchase is not contingent on any future functionality and is not dependent on any oral comments by Xplor. The complaint and the clause that defuses it are the same story told from two sides. So write the three things you're buying into the order form as named deliverables with a date. Anything that stays in the demo stays unenforceable, and the contract says so in plain English.
What FieldEdge operators say, in their own words
Every quote below is transcribed from a published review, named to the platform that carries it and to the reviewer as that platform displays them. We read the corpus by complaint type rather than by star rating, which is how the disqualifying detail buried inside a five-star review gets found.
"We were promised at signing a rate of 2.7% for each credit card transaction. The merchant service provider, Clearent, their owner, charged us 3.4% right off the bat."
But an office manager, construction, 6-12 months on the platform, reports it it differently on Capterra
"They broke every part of the agreement we made and still decided to keep my onboarding fees of $1500 after telling me I'd get a full refund, after ghosting me for months and not pulling any usable data from Service Titan."
And an owner, construction, Less than 6 months on the platform, writing on 2022-01-13, says the same thing on Capterra
"when you leave the program, you lose all of YOUR information, unless you are willing to pay for it."
A consumer services, 11-50 employees, not stated on the platform, writing on 2023-05-01, says on Software Advice
"The pricing has increased by almost 25% this year alone. In order to use the mobile function you will have to pay a yearly support fee plus a per user fee."
On 2021-08-23, a service manager, construction, 2+ years on the platform, reports it on Capterra
"My per tablet prices went from 15 per tablet to over 45"
An owner, construction, 2+ years on the platform, writing on 2019-11-12, says on Capterra
"FieldEdge would probably be great for an RLC (residential/light commercial) company. But as a company that is entirely commercial with many long, multi-phase projects, it leaves much to be desired and demands work-arounds."
A service project manager, construction who reviewed it on 2022-10-13 writes on Capterra
"You cannot create new employees in fieldedge. The only way you can create users is based on full time employees you have built in quickbooks."
And an owner, construction, Less than 6 months on the platform, writing on 2020-09-18, describes it the same thing on Capterra
"when you e-mail a quote to a customer the customer has no way of approving that work order."
An owner, construction, Less than 6 months on the platform, says it plainly on Capterra
"The system does not do what was promised. DO NOT GET SUCKERED IN."
A construction, 11-50 employees, not stated on the platform, describes it it plainly on Software Advice
"Misrepresented what their platform could do. Refused to give a trial demo unlike other platforms."
A consumer services, 2-10 employees, not stated on the platform, writing on 2024-09-01, describes it on Software Advice
"Good. Just not robust enough for our business great for a 3-4 man shop. I would suggest it for someone getting started with software."
An electrical/electronic manufacturing, 11-50 employees who reviewed it on 2026-03-01 reports it on Software Advice
"FE was the easiest software implementation we've done in 35 years. (We were coming over from Wintac) Customer support is top notch and my reps are super responsive."
On 2020-07-23, a vice president, construction, 2+ years on the platform, reports it on Capterra
"It's a process (as with any large install) to get everything set up, but I have to say that the customer support has been excellent."
But an owner, not stated on the platform, puts it it differently on GetApp
The realistic shortlist against FieldEdge
And these are the products FieldEdge loses deals to. Some publish a price; that tells you how long each evaluation will take.
| Tool | Entry price | Billing unit | Users included | Published? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FieldEdge | Quote only | Custom quote | The pricing page names how many technicians or employees are | No |
| Housecall Pro | $59 | per month on Basic, billed annually | Not stated per tier on the pricing page | Yes |
| Jobber | $49 | per month on Core, no commitment, 1 user included | 1 on Core, additional users $29 per month each | Yes |
| Service Fusion | $245 | per month on Starter, monthly billing, unlimited users | Unlimited on every plan | Yes |
| ServiceTitan | Quote only | per technician per month | Metered per technician | No |
| FieldPulse | Quote only | per seat | Seat based, full access seats and limited field seats | No |
Housecall Pro. It publishes its price on a public page, which is the entire evaluation step FieldEdge removes. And self-serve signup means you can see the product before a salesperson decides whether you qualify for a demo. But Its QuickBooks connection is a standard sync rather than the real-time one FieldEdge builds its whole pitch on, and dispatch depth at the low tier is thinner.
Jobber. Month to month with no commitment removes the auto-renewal and early termination exposure entirely, and every figure including the extra user rate is public. But One user on the entry plan and metered seats mean a six truck shop climbs quickly, and the service agreement and equipment tracking depth that HVAC shops buy FieldEdge for isn't there.
Service Fusion. Unlimited users at a flat fee is the direct answer to FieldEdge's counted mobile licences, and it publishes both the monthly and the annual rate. But The flat fee is higher on day one than a small FieldEdge deployment is likely to be, so a three technician shop pays for headroom it won't use for a year or two.
ServiceTitan. Reporting depth and the volume dispatch board that larger HVAC and plumbing shops outgrow FieldEdge to reach. But It publishes nothing either, and it's the more expensive quote of the two by every third party account, with a heavier implementation.
FieldPulse. The seat model separates full access seats from limited field seats, so office and field headcount are priced differently instead of everything landing on one licence count. But It publishes no figures at all, so it puts you back in the same demo-first sales cycle FieldEdge does.
"We were promised at signing a rate of 2.7% for each credit card transaction. The merchant service provider, Clearent, their owner, charged us 3.4% right off the bat."
Capterra, Ernie K. (9-19)
"They broke every part of the agreement we made and still decided to keep my onboarding fees of $1500 after telling me I'd get a full refund, after ghosting me for months and not pulling any usable data from Service Titan."
Capterra, Joshua R. (1-13)
Who should not buy FieldEdge
Don't buy FieldEdge if you're A general contractor or commercial mechanical shop running long, phased projects with progress billing, submittals and retainage.. A reviewer running an entirely commercial book describes constant work-arounds and says the product would suit a residential and light commercial company instead. The feature set at every tier is built around service calls, not job phases. Look at BuildOps instead.
Don't buy FieldEdge if you're A one or two person operation that wants to see the price before it books a call.. Nothing is published, the entry tier caps mobile at two licences, and a reviewer reports being refused a trial demo. So you'll spend a sales cycle to learn a number that competitors put on a page. Look at Jobber instead.
Don't buy FieldEdge if you're A shop that isn't on QuickBooks and doesn't intend to move.. The real-time QuickBooks sync is the reason to buy this over anything else in the category, and one reviewer reports the dependency extending as far as user creation. So without QuickBooks you're paying for the headline feature and not using it. Look at Service Fusion instead.
Don't buy FieldEdge if you're Anyone who can't commit to a multi-month term and a diarised cancellation date.. The agreement auto-renews for 12 months on 60 days notice and prices early exit at every remaining month of the term. So if your headcount or your trade mix might change inside a year, that's a real liability. Look at Service Fusion instead.
The verdict, by shop size
Solo operator or two-person shop
No. You can't see a price, a reviewer reports being refused a trial demo, and the exit is priced at every remaining month of a term you'll negotiate blind. And at this size the published, month to month alternatives let you start on Monday and leave in March, so that optionality is worth more than a deeper QuickBooks sync. This band runs 1 to 2 on the crew, doing residential and service work, and that's the profile the recommendation is written for.
Three to eight technicians, residential service, already on QuickBooks
Only under conditions, and they are worth being honest about. This is the band a reviewer describes it as great for, and the real-time QuickBooks sync is a genuine differentiator if your books are already there. But condition it on three things in writing: the billing unit, the price of the mobile licence beyond the tier allowance, and the Initial License Period with its 60 day notice date diarised on the day you sign. This band runs 3 to 8 on the crew, doing residential and service work, and that's the profile the recommendation is written for.
Nine to twenty-five technicians, residential and light commercial
Only under conditions, and they are worth being honest about. The tier you need at this size is Elite, because saved reports, commission tracking and the consumer portal all sit there. So price Elite against a flat-fee unlimited-user platform before you sign, because counted mobile licences and per-user mobile fees are what two long-tenure reviewers say moved on them at renewal. This band runs 9 to 25 on the crew, doing residential and commercial and service work, and that's the profile the recommendation is written for.
Commercial mechanical or general contracting with phased projects
No. A service project manager running an entirely commercial book describes it as demanding work-arounds and better suited to residential and light commercial. And nothing in the tier table addresses progress billing, submittals or retainage. No amount of configuration turns a service-call product into a project product. This band runs 5 or more on the crew, doing commercial work, and that's the profile the recommendation is written for.
Insurance restoration work
No. There's no Xactimate path, no carrier documentation workflow and no mention of claims anywhere in the tier table or the partner pages. And restoration shops need the estimating platform their adjusters use. This isn't that category of tool. This band runs 1 or more on the crew, doing insurance work, and that's the profile the recommendation is written for.
Something adjacent to FieldEdge, then we'll get out of your way
Last thing, and it's ours rather than the vendor's. We run conversion work for contractors and we inspect their sites at scale.
FieldEdge decides what your software costs after a demo call, based on how many technicians you run. But every one of those technicians is paid for by calls that reached you in the first place, and on most contractor sites the largest single element on the phone screen takes several seconds to appear. The dispatch board is downstream of that. A homeowner who leaves before your hero image paints never becomes a job on any board, at any tier.
But we can put a figure on it. Of 380 contractor sites we inspected, 82.8% had poor mobile loading performance. The sample is every site we could inspect reproducibly, rather than a panel we picked. The full write-up is in the Contractor CRO Index.
"82.8% of the 380 contractor websites inspected had poor mobile loading performance."
Fervor Studio Contractor CRO Index (2026)
So do both. The second one is usually cheaper to fix than the first one is to buy. The numbers are all public.
See where your site is losing the jobs FieldEdge would have managed
So we look at yours the same way we looked at those 380 sites, and tell you what is costing you calls.
Get a Site InspectionHow this FieldEdge page was researched
And here's what we can and can't stand behind on FieldEdge. What it is instead: FieldEdge's own 10 pages read line by line on 7 August 2026, plus the review corpus read by complaint type rather than by star rating. So each number carries the date it was read, and the page it was read from.
So: 13 quotes on this page, eight from Capterra, four from Software Advice and one from GetApp. Capterra, Software Advice and GetApp share one Gartner Digital Markets review pool, so a matching score across them is one sample rather than three corroborating ones.
And https://marketplace.fieldedge.com/ (HTTP 403), https://marketplace.fieldedge.com/partners (HTTP 403), https://fieldedge.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/01/FE_Integrations_One-pager_v3_2022.pdf (HTTP 503), Apple App Store listing (the id we tried returned HTTP 404 and we didn't find a confirmed replacement), G2, TrustRadius, Trustpilot and Reddit refused automated retrieval for FieldEdge. Forum and social threads are the ones people most want quoted, and they are exactly the ones we cannot verify, so none of them are here.
What that leaves untested: we didn't run FieldEdge on a live dispatch board, so every workflow note here is read from the vendor's own tier table, the Xplor terms and dated customer reviews rather than reproduced by us.. And everything above is ten vendor pages and a review corpus, which is documentary rather than hands-on.
What FieldEdge users say
We were promised at signing a rate of 2.7% for each credit card transaction. The merchant service provider, Clearent, their owner, charged us 3.4% right off the bat.
They broke every part of the agreement we made and still decided to keep my onboarding fees of $1500 after telling me I'd get a full refund, after ghosting me for months and not pulling any usable data from Service Titan.
when you leave the program, you lose all of YOUR information, unless you are willing to pay for it.
The pricing has increased by almost 25% this year alone. In order to use the mobile function you will have to pay a yearly support fee plus a per user fee.
My per tablet prices went from 15 per tablet to over 45
FieldEdge would probably be great for an RLC (residential/light commercial) company. But as a company that is entirely commercial with many long, multi-phase projects, it leaves much to be desired and demands work-arounds.
You cannot create new employees in fieldedge. The only way you can create users is based on full time employees you have built in quickbooks.
when you e-mail a quote to a customer the customer has no way of approving that work order.
The system does not do what was promised. DO NOT GET SUCKERED IN.
Misrepresented what their platform could do. Refused to give a trial demo unlike other platforms.
Good. Just not robust enough for our business great for a 3-4 man shop. I would suggest it for someone getting started with software.
FE was the easiest software implementation we've done in 35 years. (We were coming over from Wintac) Customer support is top notch and my reps are super responsive.
It's a process (as with any large install) to get everything set up, but I have to say that the customer support has been excellent.
Frequently asked questions
How much does FieldEdge cost?
FieldEdge doesn't publish a price. Its pricing page names three tiers, Select, Premier and Elite, and answers the cost question with "Our three plans allow you to customize the software and add-ons based on the specific features you need, so pricing can vary!" before pointing you at a demo booking. The page names team size and add-ons as the variables but never states the billing unit. So the only hard figures in public come from customers: one reviewer reports paying a $1,500 onboarding fee, another reports the per-tablet charge rising from 15 to over 45, and a third reports an increase of almost 25% in a single year.
Does FieldEdge lock you into a contract?
Yes. FieldEdge is owned by Xplor Technologies and fieldedge.com/legal 301-redirects to the Xplor US SaaS Terms. Section 2.2 renews the agreement for successive 12 month periods unless either party gives written notice at least 60 days before the current period ends. The Initial License Period itself is set in your order form and never appears in the public terms, so the length is negotiated per deal. And one reviewer describes a two-year commitment.
What happens if I cancel FieldEdge early?
You pay the rest of the term. The Xplor terms define Early Termination Fees as the monthly fee multiplied by the number of months remaining in the Initial License Period or Renewal Period, and section 13.4 makes that payable whenever you terminate for any reason other than Xplor's material breach or insolvency. And there's no cap and no pro-rata reduction, so cancelling in month two of a renewal costs you ten more months.
Can I get my data out of FieldEdge?
You can export while you're still a customer, and the contract gives you nothing after you stop being one. The documented route is exporting Customers, Dispatching, Invoices, Quotes and an Equipment List one tab at a time to XLSX, setting the invoice filters to All first, and running them in one year batches if they error. Section 13.3.1 of the Xplor terms terminates every licence on expiry and requires you to stop accessing the platform immediately, and the data provision that follows covers personal data on request rather than your job history. One reviewer states that leaving means losing your information unless you pay for it. So export on a schedule, not on the day you cancel.
Is FieldEdge's payment processing rate part of the software contract?
No, and this is the single most useful thing to know before you sign. Section 5.6 of the Xplor terms deems Payment Services a Third Party Service provided by third party payment processor partners under a separate merchant agreement solely between you and the processor. Section 2.4 additionally lets Xplor vary pricing when card scheme fees or interchange rise. And an office manager records being promised 2.7% per card transaction at signing and being charged 3.4% from the first month, which is what happens when the rate lives outside the document you signed.
How good is the QuickBooks integration really?
It's the reason the product exists, and the public detail is thin. FieldEdge says information seamlessly flows in real-time between FieldEdge and QuickBooks and claims to be the only real-time sync in the category. But what no public page states is which QuickBooks editions are supported, which records sync, or which direction each record travels. One owner reports that new users couldn't be created in FieldEdge at all and had to exist as full time employees in QuickBooks first, so at least part of the relationship runs one way. So ask for the record-level sync map in the demo.
Is FieldEdge good for commercial contractors?
Not for phased project work. A service project manager at a fully commercial company writes that FieldEdge would suit a residential or light commercial company but leaves much to be desired for long, multi-phase projects and demands work-arounds. The feature differences between tiers back that up: what the top tier adds is outbound call recording, a marketing product and a consumer portal, all of which are residential service concerns. So commercial mechanical shops generally look at BuildOps or a project-first platform instead.
How many integrations does FieldEdge have?
The vendor says more than 40 partners, including integrated software applications, service providers, distributors and more. But we couldn't verify that number. The FieldEdge marketplace at marketplace.fieldedge.com returns HTTP 403 to an ordinary fetch and the vendor's own integrations one-pager PDF returned HTTP 503 on 2026-08-07, so no public, countable directory was reachable. And a developer API portal exists at docs.api.fieldedge.com, with no published statement on whether access is included or tier gated.
Freshness
How we keep this page current
Three dates govern this review, and they carry different meanings. The initial source sweep is dated August 7, 2026; when only part of the evidence set is recaptured later, that later date is stated beside the refreshed claim. We last revised the page on August 7, 2026. And the user reviews we quote were posted over roughly the last 24 months, so their individual dates remain part of the evidence instead of being overwritten by a later pricing update.
We revise the page when FieldEdge changes a published price or a contract term, when a rating we cite moves by more than a few tenths, or when the vendor ships something big enough to change the verdict. We never bump the date just to look fresh, because Google treats that as manipulation and so do we. If a figure here reads as stale by the time you land on it, treat it as a floor and check the vendor's own page. We linked it at every number for exactly that reason.
Sourcing
How this review was researched
Every figure on this page traces to a captured source linked inline where it appears. The initial sweep is dated August 7, 2026; any later, partial recapture is dated at the claim rather than relabelling the whole evidence set. Ratings come from Capterra, GetApp, Software Advice and the Apple App Store. Note that Capterra, GetApp and Software Advice share one Gartner Digital Markets review pool, so an identical score across all three is a single sample rather than three corroborating ones, and this page treats it that way. G2, TrustRadius and Trustpilot block automated access, so where their numbers appear they are labelled as reported rather than verified. No claim here is sourced from Reddit or from a contractor Facebook group, because neither could be retrieved and quoting them would mean inventing attribution. Pricing marked as reported comes from third-party roundups, never from Fervor. Fervor's own findings come from the Contractor CRO Index 2026.
About
About Fervor Studio
Fervor Studio is a conversion rate optimization (CRO) and web design studio for home services contractors across North America, based in Cochrane, Alberta. Fervor does not sell field service management software and is not an alternative to FieldEdge. It publishes the Contractor CRO Index, a public benchmark measuring contractor website conversion potential using reproducible, open-source methods such as axe-core and Google Lighthouse. Fervor Studio is operated by Fervor Group Inc.